Secretary of State

Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 SW 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1594
(785) 296-4564


For Immediate Release
Tuesday, July 24, 2001

Contact Information
Jesse Borjon, Communications Director
Office of the Secretary of State
(785) 296-4580


Secretary of State Ron Thornburgh announced today the appointment of Marilyn Chapman to Sedgwick County Election Commissioner. The swearing in ceremony will take place on Tuesday, July 24 at 1:30 at the Sedgwick County Election Office. Chapman will serve a four-year term in office.

Marilyn Chapman has served for twenty years, Secretary of State Jack Brier first appointed her on July 20, 1981. Chapman is currently one of the longest serving election commissioners in Kansas and has served for Secretary Brier, Secretary Graves, and Secretary Thornburgh.

Along with community involvement in election issues, Chapman is involved with election issues on the national level. Chapman has served as the co-chair for the Election Center’s Joint Election Officials Liaison Committee, which monitors federal election issues. In addition, Chapman recently chaired the Secretary of State’s National Voter Registration Act Committee.

“Marilyn is well respected throughout our Nation for her work and leadership in election related issues,” stated Thornburgh. “At a time when our country’s election process is under review from the Courthouse to the White House, I have absolute confidence in Marilyn Chapman.” “Her integrity, professionalism, and expertise are unmatched.” “Marilyn is a tremendous public servant and represents the finest our state has to offer. ”