Secretary of State
image of the Kansas Secretary of State seal
Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 SW 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1594
(785) 296-4564


For Immediate Release
Friday, April 23, 2004

Contact Information
Jesse Borjon, Communications Director
Office of the Secretary of State
(785) 296-4580


Topeka, KS - Kansas Secretary of State Ron Thornburgh today announced the official commemorative coin election will take place on Monday, April 26 during the first period of classes at Kansas high schools.

“The coin election is a great opportunity for high school students to be involved in the election process,” stated Thornburgh. “It is an opportunity for students to voice their opinions and be a part of an important decision making process. I look forward to seeing the final quarter design that will represent our great state of Kansas.”

The Department of Education and the Secretary of State’s office have worked together to create the Kansas commemorative coin election for high school students. Ballots have been sent to each high school principal by the Department of Education and each school will distribute ballots to the students. Votes will be tallied by each school and submitted to the Department of Education using a Web page created for the coin election.

All totals will be submitted to the Secretary of State’s office by April 30. The Governor, Attorney General and Secretary of State tentatively plan to meet and certify the result of the election during the first week of May. Once the results are certified the official coin design will be presented to the Kansas Commemorative Coin Design Commission and then presented to the Governor.


The 50 State Quarters Program is a 10-year initiative of the U.S. Treasury and Mint commemorating each of the 50 United States. States are honored in the order in which they ratified the Constitution and joined the Union. As the 34th State, Kansas will be honored in August 2005.

The Kansas Commemorative Coin Design Commission in cooperation with the Governor through authorization by the Kansas Legislature will oversee the Kansas commemorative coin project.