Secretary of State
image of the Kansas Secretary of State seal
Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 SW 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1594
(785) 296-4564


For Immediate Release
Wednesday, May 5, 2004

Contact Information
Jesse Borjon, Communications Director
Office of the Secretary of State
(785) 296-4580


Topeka, KS - Secretary of State Ron Thornburgh will convene a meeting of the State Board of Canvassers at 9:30 a.m. on Thursday, May 6, 2004, in the Secretary of State's office, Memorial Hall second floor for a mock canvass. The board will meet to certify the results of the commemorative coin election.

The board is defined by statute and comprised of Secretary of State Ron Thornburgh, Governor Kathleen Sebelius and Attorney General Phill Kline. Senior Deputy Attorney General Eric Rucker will represent the Attorney General.

Upon concluding the canvass, the official coin design will be presented to the Kansas Commemorative Coin Design Commission. The design will then be presented to the Governor.

The Commission, Governor's office, Department of Education and Secretary of State's office all worked together to create the Kansas commemorative coin election for eligible high school students in the state. Ballots were distributed to each high school and students voted during the week of April 26. Votes were tallied by each participating school and submitted to the Department of Education, who then submitted all results to the Secretary of State's office.

The Kansas Commemorative Coin Design Commission in cooperation with the Governor through authorization by the Kansas Legislature has overseen the Kansas commemorative coin project.