Secretary of State
image of the Kansas Secretary of State seal
Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 SW 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1594
(785) 296-4564


For Immediate Release
Thursday, May 6, 2004

Contact Information
Jesse Borjon, Communications Director
Office of the Secretary of State
(785) 296-4580


Topeka, KS – Kansas Secretary of State Ron Thornburgh today convened the State Board of Canvassers to certify the results of the official commemorative coin election that took place in 211 high schools across the state.

With 17,316 votes, coin two featuring the buffalo won. There was only a 1,561 vote difference between coin two and coin one, which featured Ad Astra. About 54 percent of Kansas high schools participated and 48,080 total students voted.

Governor Kathleen Sebelius, Senior Deputy Attorney General Eric Rucker and Secretary of State Ron Thornburgh met and certified the result of the election Thursday, May 6, 2004. During the canvass, the official coin design was presented to the Kansas Commemorative Coin Design Commission and then to the Governor.

“The coin election provided Kansas students the opportunity to experience democracy in action,” said Secretary Thornburgh. “Students were able to voice their opinions and be a part of an important decision making process.”

Governor Kathleen Sebelius said, "I am honored to be a part of this historic decision and am thrilled to have involved our Kansas kids in the process. It is a great example to our young people on participating in an election, and what it means to cast a vote for their choice. Today it's a quarter, tomorrow it's a legislator, a congressman, a president."

The Kansas Commemorative Coin Commission, Governor’s office, Department of Education and Secretary of State’s office all worked together to create the Kansas commemorative coin election for high school students. Ballots were sent to each high school principal and students voted during the week of April 26. Votes were tallied by each school and submitted to the Department of Education and all totals were then submitted to the Secretary of State’s office.

According to statute the next step requires the Governor to submit the design selected by Kansas high school students to the United States mint for presentment to the secretary of treasury for final approval.

The 50 State Quarters Program is a 10-year initiative of the U.S. Treasury and Mint commemorating each of the 50 United States. States are honored in the order in which they ratified the Constitution and joined the Union. As the 34th State, Kansas will be honored in August 2005.

The Kansas Commemorative Coin Design Commission in cooperation with the Governor through authorization by the Kansas Legislature has overseen the Kansas commemorative coin project.