Secretary of State
image of the Kansas Secretary of State seal
Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 SW 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1594
(785) 296-4564


For Immediate Release
Tuesday, April 11, 2006

Contact Information
Stephanie Wing, Public Information Officer
Office of the Secretary of State
(785) 296-8571


TOPEKA , KS- Today, Kansas Secretary of State Ron Thornburgh announced Bruce Newby will be appointed as Wyandotte County election commissioner.

“Bruce Newby brings a wealth of knowledge to the position,” said Thornburgh. “During this time when our system is undergoing a number of changes brought about by the Help America Vote Act (HAVA), his experience will be extremely valuable. I look forward to working with Bruce to ensure Wyandotte County remains at the forefront of election reform.”

“I am delighted with this opportunity to serve my community,” said Newby. “The right to vote may very well be the most important thing any of us can do to preserve democracy. It will be my top priority to increase voter participation in all elections and to build on the tremendous improvements made by Pat Rahija and the dedicated staff of the Wyandotte County Election Office.”

A retired U.S. Army officer, Bruce Newby has most recently served as a project manager for URS Corporation in Overland Park. Bruce has numerous hours of community involvement and is a native of Wyandotte County.


Page Two

Newby will serve the remainder of the four-year term previously held by Patricia Rahija. Rahija retired on April 1, 2006 after 11 years of service. Under her guidance, Wyandotte County implemented the National Voter Registration Act (NVRA), as well as the Help America Vote Act (HAVA), ensuring all county residents are able to cast a secure, unassisted vote.

Thornburgh appointed a five member search committee to handle the interview process and recommend finalists to the Secretary. The committee members were: Nancy Bryant, chief of staff to the secretary of state; Brad Bryant, deputy assistant secretary of state for the Division of Elections and Legislative Matters; Dr Patricia Caruthers, Kansas City Community College, ret.; Angie Mitchell, Security Bank of Kansas City; Tom Roberts, Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, KS.

A formal swearing-in ceremony will take place later this month.