Secretary of State
image of the Kansas Secretary of State seal
Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 SW 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1594
(785) 296-4564


For Immediate Release
Friday, April 21, 2006

Contact Information
Stephanie Wing, Public Information Officer
Office of the Secretary of State
(785) 296-8571


Kansas City, KS – Today, Kansas Secretary of State Ron Thornburgh officially swore-in Bruce Newby to the post of Wyandotte County election commissioner.

“Bruce Newby brings a wealth of knowledge to the position,” said Ron Thornburgh. “During this time when our system is undergoing a number of changes brought about by the Help America Vote Act (HAVA), his experience will be extremely valuable. I look forward to working with Bruce to ensure Wyandotte County remains at the forefront of election reform.”

“The right to vote may very well be the most important thing any of us can do to preserve democracy,” said Newby. “I am delighted with this opportunity to serve my community. It will be my top priority to increase voter participation in all elections and to build on the tremendous improvements made by Pat Rahija and the dedicated staff of the Wyandotte County Election Office.”

Bruce Newby most recently served as project manager for URS Corporation in Overland Park and is a retired U.S. Army officer. Newby has numerous hours of community involvement and is a native of Wyandotte County. Newby will serve the remainder of the four-year term previously held by Patricia Rahija which will expire on June 30, 2007.

Thornburgh appointed a five-member search committee to handle the application and interview process. Upon concluding the process, the selection committee recommended candidates to the Secretary of State for his review. The new election commissioner was announced on April 11, 2006.