Secretary of State
image of the Kansas Secretary of State seal
Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 SW 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1594
(785) 296-4564


For Immediate Release
Thursday, June 10, 2010

Contact Information
Abbie Hodgson, Director of Public Affairs
Office of the Secretary of State
(785) 296-4580


TOPEKA, KS – Today at noon sharp, Kansas Secretary of State Chris Biggs struck a gavel, officially concluding the 2010 candidate-filing period.

I am encouraged to see so many Kansans make the decision to run for elected office this year, Sec. Biggs said. I believe that running for office is one of the most important forms of civic engagement.

In total, 346 individuals have filed to run for a state-level office. For a complete listing of candidates, please visit:

In 2010, individuals will be elected or retained for the following offices:

-- One U.S. Senator-- State Board of Education (#1, 3, 5, 7, 9)
-- All four U.S. Representatives-- District Magistrate Judges (16 retained, 2 elected)
-- Governor / Lt. Governor-- Four Kansas Supreme Court Justices (#1, 2, 3, 5)
-- Secretary of State-- Eight Kansas Court of Appeals Judges
-- Attorney General-- District Court Judges (40 retained, 29 elected)
-- State Treasurer-- Commissioner of Insurance
-- All 125 State Representatives

Democratic or Republican party candidates wishing to appear on the August 3rd primary ballot were required to file by noon today. Libertarian or Reform candidates nominated by caucus or convention were also required to file nomination papers by the same deadline. Independent candidates must file nomination petitions by noon August 2nd to appear on the general election ballot.