Government Website icon

The .gov means it's official.
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Padlock icon

The site is secure.
The https:// or lock icon ensures you're safely connected to the website and any information you provide is encrypted.

Publications iconKansas Register

Volume 41 - Issue 41 - October 13, 2022

State of Kansas

Office of the Governor

Executive Order 22-08
Proclaiming States of Drought For Kansas Counties

WHEREAS, the Director of the Kansas Water Office has informed me, pursuant to K.S.A. 74-2608, of drought conditions within the state;

WHEREAS, there is every indication that drought conditions are present across the state;

WHEREAS, these drought conditions will not abate in the near future;

WHEREAS, the Kansas Emergency Management Act (K.S.A. 48-924, et seq.) states that the Governor shall be responsible for meeting the dangers to the state and its people from disasters, and specifically authorizes drought proclamations such as this to address drought conditions; and

WHEREAS, Director of the Kansas Water Office, in consultation with the Governor’s Drought Response Team, is authorized to upgrade a county to emergency status, as the need arises;

NOW, THEREFORE, pursuant to the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Kansas and K.S.A. 48-924(e), I hereby:

  1. Declare a Drought Watch, Drought Warning or Drought Emergency for the counties below:
    1. Drought Watch counties: Atchison, Brown, Clay, Cloud, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Jackson, Jefferson, Jewell, Johnson, Leavenworth, Marshall, Miami, Mitchell, Nemaha, Osage, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Republic, Riley, Shawnee, Wabaunsee, Washington, and Wyandotte.
    2. Drought Warning counties: Anderson, Chase, Coffey, Lincoln, Linn, Lyon, Marion, Morris, Osborne, Saline, and Smith.
    3. Drought Emergency counties: Allen, Barber, Barton, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Clark, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Decatur, Edwards, Elk, Ellis, Ellsworth, Finney, Ford, Gove, Graham, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Greenwood, Hamilton, Harper, Harvey, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearny, Kingman, Kiowa, Labette, Lane, Logan, McPherson, Meade, Montgomery, Morton, Neosho, Ness, Norton, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Rawlins, Reno, Rice, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Scott, Sedgwick, Seward, Sheridan, Sherman, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Sumner, Thomas, Trego, Wallace, Wichita, Wilson, and Woodson.
  2. Authorize and direct all agencies under the jurisdiction of the Governor to implement the appropriate Watch, Warning or Emergency level drought response actions assigned to them in the Operations Plan of the Governor’s Drought Response Team.
  3. Order that county drought stages declared in the Executive Order shall remain in effect until revised or rescinded by a subsequent Executive Order.
  4. Rescind Executive Order 22-06 upon Executive Order 22-08 becoming effective.

This document shall be filed with the Secretary of State as Executive Order 22-08 and shall become effective immediately.

Dated September 29, 2022.

Laura Kelly

Doc. No. 050571