Publications iconKansas Register

Volume 40 - Issue 43 - October 28, 2021

State of Kansas

Board of Cosmetology

Permanent Administrative Regulations

Article 1.—LICENSING AND QUALIFICATIONS OF COSMETOLOGISTS

69-1-4. Grades necessary to pass licensure examinations; development and administration of licensure examinations. (a) Each applicant taking the state board of cosmetology examinations shall be granted a license authorizing the practice of cosmetology, nail technology, esthetics, or electrology if the applicant attains the following examination scores:

(1) An average of at least 75 percent on the practical examination sections; and

(2) at least 75 percent on the written examination.

(b) Each applicant for licensure as an instructor shall be required to attain a score of at least 75 percent on the written examination for instructors, in addition to meeting the applicable requirements specified in K.S.A. 65-1903, and amendments thereto.

(c) The licensure examinations shall be developed and administered by the board or by a board-approved examination provider. (Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-1905; effective Jan. 1, 1966; amended May 1, 1981; amended Feb. 21, 1994; amended March 22, 1996; amended, T-69-12-29-04, Dec. 29, 2004; amended April 15, 2005; amended Nov. 12, 2021.)

Article 6.—BEAUTY SHOPS

69-6-2. Sale or change of ownership. Each establishment license shall be valid only for the premises named in the license. Each licensee shall notify the board, in writing, within15 days of a sale or other change of ownership of the establishment. (Authorized by K.S.A. 74-2702a; implementing K.S.A. 65-1904a; effective Jan. 1, 1966; amended May 1, 1978; amended March 22, 1996; amended Nov. 12, 2021.)

Article 15.—TATTOOING, BODY PIERCING, AND PERMANENT COSMETICS

69-15-31. Potentially disqualifying civil and criminal records; advisory opinion; fee. (a) Conviction of any felony or class A misdemeanor listed in K.S.A. 65-1942, and amendments thereto, may disqualify an applicant from receiving a license.

(b) Civil records that may disqualify an applicant from receiving a license shall be any records of any court judgment or settlement in which the applicant admitted or was found to have engaged in conduct that would constitute a violation of any practice act under the jurisdiction of the board or any of the board’s regulations. Those records shall not be used to disqualify an applicant for more than five years after the applicant satisfied any judgment or restitution ordered by the court or agreed to in the settlement.

(c) Any individual with a criminal or civil record described in this regulation may submit a petition to the board for an informal, advisory opinion concerning whether the individual’s civil or criminal record may disqualify the individual from licensure. Each petition shall include the following:

(1) The details of the individual’s civil or criminal record, including a copy of court records or the settlement agreement;

(2) an explanation of the circumstances that resulted in the civil or criminal record; and

(3) a check or money order in the amount of $50.00. (Authorized by K.S.A. 74-120 and 74-2702a; implementing K.S.A. 65-1942, 65-1947, and 74-120; effective Nov. 12, 2021.)

Laura Gloeckner
Executive Director

Doc. No. 049528