Government Website icon

The .gov means it's official.
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Padlock icon

The site is secure.
The https:// or lock icon ensures you're safely connected to the website and any information you provide is encrypted.

Publications iconKansas Register

Volume 41 - Issue 33 - August 18, 2022

State of Kansas

Department of Transportation

Request for Comments

In accordance with Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and Federal Transit Administration (FTA) requirements, the Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT) requests comments on the draft Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2023-2026 Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP) for Kansas.

The STIP is a project specific publication that lists KDOT administered projects, regardless of funding source, including projects for counties and cities as well as projects on the state highway system for a four-year period (October 1, 2022 to September 30, 2026). In addition, an index of projects being advance constructed, summarizing the conversion year(s) and conversion amount by phase as well as a total conversion amount for each project listed, is provided. Projects that are developed or revised after the preparation of this STIP document will use the STIP amendment process.

Supplementing the project information is a narrative that briefly describes KDOT’s public involvement process, project selection process, program financing and fiscal constraint anticipated for the STIP, and an overview of KDOT’s public transportation program. Also, included within the STIP narrative are brief descriptions of the programs administered by entities other than KDOT. These programs which are required by federal law to be included in the STIP are: Federal lands and tribal transportation programs administered by the Office of Federal Lands Highway and the Bureau of Indian Affairs; recreational trails, administered by Kansas Wildlife and Parks; and by reference the Transportation Improvement Programs (TIPs) administered by each of the Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPO) for the six urbanized areas of Kansas. The six state MPOs are: the Mid-America Regional Council (MARC) for the Kansas City area; the Wichita Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (WAMPO) that serves Sedgwick County and the cities of Andover and Mulvane; the Metropolitan Topeka Planning Organization; the Lawrence-Douglas County Metropolitan Planning Office; the Flint Hills Metropolitan Planning Organization that serves the cities of Manhattan, Ogden, Junction City, and Wamego; and the St. Joseph Area Transportation Study Organization that serves Doniphan County in the cities of Wathena and Ellwood.

The STIP is available for review online on KDOT’s website at, select the draft FFY 2023-2026 STIP link. To receive a print copy of the draft STIP or to comment on the contents of the STIP, contact Linda Fritton, phone 785-296-3254 or Gene Ingwerson, phone 785-296-0136, in the Kansas Department of Transportation, Division of Program and Project Management, 2nd Floor Tower, Eisenhower State Office Building, 700 SW Harrison St., Topeka, KS 66603-3745; fax 785-296-8168.

The comment period for the draft STIP concludes on September 16, 2022.

A draft print STIP document is, also, available for review at the following locations:

KDOT’s District Offices

  • District One, 121 SW 21st St., Topeka, KS 66612
  • District Two, 1006 N. Third St., Salina, KS 67401
  • District Three, 312 S. Second Ave., Norton, KS 67654
  • District Four, 411 W. Fourteenth St., Chanute, KS 66720
  • District Five, 500 N. Hendricks St., Hutchinson, KS 67501
  • District Six, 121 N. Campus Dr., Garden City, KS 67846

The Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Offices

  • Mid-America Regional Council (MARC), 600 Broadway Blvd., Suite 200, Kansas City, MO 64105
  • Wichita Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (WAMPO), 271 W. 3rd St., Suite 208, Wichita, KS 67202
  • Metropolitan Topeka Planning Organization (MTPO), 620 SE Madison St., Topeka, KS 66607
  • Lawrence-Douglas County Metropolitan Planning Organization, City Hall, 6 E. 6th St., Lawrence, KS 66044
  • Flint Hills Metropolitan Planning Organization, 206 Southwind Pl., Suite 2B, Manhattan, KS 66503
  • St. Joseph Area Transportation Study Organization (SJATSO), 1100 Frederick Ave., Room 202, St. Joseph, MO 64501

Note: This information is available in alternative accessible formats. To obtain an alternative format, contact the Division of Communications and Public Affairs, Eisenhower State Office Building, 700 SW Harrison, 2nd Floor West, Topeka, KS, 66603-3745, or 785-296-3585 (Voice/Hearing Impaired – 711).

Julie Lorenz

Doc. No. 050429